Hercules–1997

C: This movie is just a bundle of pure fun for me. Between Phil, Pain, Panic, and Pegasus, there is too much sidekick awesome-ness to go unrecognized. They definitely serve their purpose as comedic relief and backup and do it with style!

Meg is definitely my favorite non-princess character in all of Disney-dom. She’s so sassy, so strong, and is so resourceful, how can you not love her? (Plus, who wouldn’t kill to have that hair. I mean seriously, how do her bangs even stay up?!)

meg and hades sass

The amount of sass in this picture is just overwhelming.

The dynamic between Hercules and Meg is perfect. He’s the small town farm boy, she’s the sassy yet guarded girl who knows what it’s like to be hurt. He helps her learn to trust again, and she opens up the way for him to become strong enough to be a true hero.

D: “Bless my soul Herc was on a roll person of the week in very Greek opinion poll What a pro Herc could stop a show Point him at a monster and you’re talking SRO He was a no one A zero, zero Now he’s a honcho He’s a hero Here was a kid with his act down pat From zero to hero in no time flat Zero to hero just like that” This song is one of my favorites. It is so upbeat. I can’t help but dance to this song.

C, I agree with you. There is so much “sidekick awesome-ness” that does not get enough recognition. These sidekicks are really amazing and are some of my favorite characters. Pegasus is definitely my favorite sidekick. His personality is like no other.

Meg is also one of my favorite non-princess ladies. She is headstrong, independent, and just plain awesome. One of my favorite lines that she says is “I’m a damsel, I’m in distress, I can handle this.” It shows that women can be in trouble and not have to rely on man to come and rescue her.

tumblr_ls23hsLEBK1qb9pa3o1_500

Once again this is a movie that I don’t watch a lot but once I do I wonder why I do not watch it more. It is just a fun movie to watch. I would recommend it to anyone.

Fun fact: The voice actor for Meg is also the woman who played Belle in the Original Broadway Cast for Beauty and the Beast.

Fun fact #2: The lion pelt Hercules is posing in for his portrait on the vase is Scar from the Lion King.

Leave a comment